I’m back!

I must have been really overwhelmed  after my last post because I never returned!  As usual, life got in the way and my new found hobby of blogging (and quilting) fell by the way side.  I am going to try and make this an update post to get me going again but since it’s been over a year this is going to be rambling!

I finished Megan and Kyle’s quilt but I think I was so anxious to be done with it that I didn’t take any pictures of the finished product!  But, Megan did send me a picture of her sitting under the quilt the other day so I will post that one.

kitty quilt

I realize this is not a great picture but you get the idea!  I have only attempted free-motion quilting once since the experience of trying to do this quilt and the second-time around it was actually much easier!  I did a circular-swirly pattern from the Beginner’s Guide to Free-Motion Quilting by Natalia Bonner.  I think the reason this project was so much easier was because I was only making a pillow.  Note to self: when attempting something for the first time it’s probably not a great idea to start on a large, throw-size quilt!  Below is a picture of the pillow, which I made for my mom.  I embroidered the flowers on it as well!

momma's pillow

The only other quilting project I’ve completed since my last post was a baby quilt which actually turned out pretty well!  This quilt was for a co-worker and his wife.  The only problem is that they had twins and I still have not finished the baby boy’s quilt!  (The twins were born last April…eek!) Here is the baby girl’s quilt:

baby maria's quilt

This pattern is called “Pow Wow” and I bought it from Cluck Cluck Sew.  The fabric is Free Spirit Fabrics, “In My Room,” which I bought from purlsoho.com  I am so close to finishing the boy version and I really hope to get it done this weekend.  I feel terrible that it’s taken me so long!

One of my 2014 resolutions–along with being better with our finances, having a more positive outlook, and my old stand by, lose 10 lbs.–I really want to be better about finding time to work on my quilts and other fun projects.

One of my excuses for things getting so off-track in 2013 is that we bought a house in July!  So, that was stressful and we spent a lot of our free time doing house stuff, which we will continue to do.  The first (and only) room that we’ve painted so far is my sewing room!  We painted it bright green and I think it is very inspiring.

sewing room 1

Even though no one is actually reading any of this, I’m sorry I disappeared and I am happy to be back!  Happy 2014!

Leave a Reply

